Home > Manual > Software version 7 and higher > How do I change the server address, protocol or port

How do I change the server address, protocol or port

Software

7.9 and higher

Problem

You want to change the destination or protocol of the connection between the software and the backup server.

Cause

The account has been moved to another backup server.
You want to switch the protocol from HTTP to HTTPS or vice versa.

Solution

There are 2 possibilities to change the settings, via the software or delete the local profile:

Change the settings via the software

A GUI (Windows/Linux/Mac)
  1. Start the Software
  2. Go to your profile (gray figure)
    OBM icons
  3. Go to Verification in the left menu.
  4. Uncheck Save password
    OBM Profile
  5. Click on Save.
  6. Close the software
    • Confirm to exit.
  7. Start the Software again.
  8. Click on Show advanced option.
    OBM Login options
  9. You can now edit the protocol and server address.
    OBM Login expanded
  10. Click on OK.
  11. The check mark next to save password can be checked again.
  12. Enter the password and click on OK.
  13. Done, The software is now reconnected to the account.

CLI (Linux/Unix/Mac)
  1. Go to the bin folder in the installation folder (e.g. /usr/local/obm/bin)
  2. Start the configuration script (./RunConfigurator.sh)
  3. Select (2). Change Network Settings.
  4. Here you can change the server address or the protocol
    • Select (1). Backup Server URL [backupXX.mindtime.nl] for changing the server address.
    • Select (2). Port [443] for changing the port.
    • Select (3). Protocol [https] for changing the protocol.
  5. Select (5). Save and Return.
  6. Select (4). Quit.
 

Delete local profile

Delete the profile folder (.obm/.acb) under the user where the backup will be performed.
Specifically, it is the "config" folder under the profile folder and you could leave the rest.
  • .obm = Profile folder for Pro Backup
  • .acb = Profile folder for PC Backup
See the table in the article Scheduler service problems for the location of the profile folder.

As soon as you reconnect the software to the account, the profile folder will be recreated and the settings downloaded from the backup server.
All settings with the exception of the encryption key are stored on the backup server.
You will therefore have to re-enter the encryption key.
BENELUX GERMANY AUSTRIA / SWITZERLAND
+31 (0) 570 56 23 43 +49 (0) 800 12 22 587 +31 (0) 570 71 43 06
info@mindtimebackup.nl info@mindtimebackup.de info@mindtimebackup.de